A Bad Day!

Today was awful!  It started out well.  And then, about 8 am, my eyes started acting funny.  Here it comes, I thought.  And I was right!  By 9, my right hand was numb and I knew I was in for a long day.  I got home as quickly as I could and crawled into bed, knowing that the worst was yet to come. 

Migraines are a terrible thing!  Unless you have them, you really can’t comprehend the horror of knowing one is on the way.  Luckily, if you can call anything about having migraines lucky, I get the aura’s.  I’m insanely exhausted beforehand- this time it was 3 days before the migraine actually hit.  Then, I feel like I’m in a cloud, followed by seeing flashes.  This part drives me crazy.  Even in a dark room or covering my eyes won’t make the flashes go away!  After 5 to 15 minutes that usually subsides.  For awhile, I have some relief.  Then, half of my body has parts that go numb- my hand and arm, sometimes half of my nose or tongue- very strange sounding, I know!  But, imagine how strange it feels!  That’s about it for that warning sign- strangeness- no pain, kind of amusing in an odd way!  I guess it’s the calm before the storm.  After that one leaves, the intense head pain is sure to come on within the hour.  And by then, I’m down for the count.  Moving becomes almost impossible sometimes and I just lay there with a pillow over my head to block out as much light as possible- and pressure on my head helps for some reason.

The frustrating thing is that 3 weeks ago I stopped drinking anything with caffeine and all sweets- except for taking my son and nephews to Cold Stone Creamery for ice cream last Sunday- to try and eliminate these migraines.  And, although they are much better now, I really want them to just go away! 

I’m trying the herbal and aromatherapy approach since all meds I’ve taken have eaten up my stomach.  So, I surround myself with lavender, take feverfew, and found some oral spray at the health store that was supposed to stop one if I was getting one.  Although it probably would have been much worse if I hadn’t taken the spray, I was really hoping for a miracle!  But, since I am here tying now and have been able to roll out of bed since mid afternoon, I guess I’m doing ok!

Explore posts in the same categories: cold stone creamery, feverfew, ice cream, lavender, migraine

Leave a comment