Creating a Mission Statement

After a particularly stressful discussion, I went online to search for some inspiration.  Trying to regain focus in my life, I referred back to something from my highschool days.  I was in a test program for Stephen Covey’s 7 Habit’s of Highly Effective People.  They were in the process of creating a high school class and I was lucky enough to be one of the guinea pigs!  So, I went online and did a search for his website. The result was that I created a mission statement for my life- in about 15 minutes!  With the philosophy that the first thoughts that come to mind are the most important to a person, they use thoughtful, yet simple, questions to get people to realize thier values and thier purpose.  These answers are then repeated back in order to create action sentences- ways people will live thier values and purposes. Check out this link to create your own mission statement.  You can read mine below.  I might make some changes to it- mainly the order it’s written in.  But that’s ok.  Here is the great quote they gave as soon as the mission statement was saved.  “Creating,defining, and refining your mission statement is an ongoing process because life is an ongoing process.”  Interesting thought.

Your Kickstart Mission Statement:
I will try to respect all people, places, and things.
I will help my son to become the wonderful person he has the potential to be.
I will do what I can to have a happy and loving relationship with my husband.
I will try to laugh rather than cry, to look at the lighter side of things.
I will work to be a person of integrity.
I will put God higher in my life by listening to the direction He is trying to lead me in and by trying to follow it.
I will be honest- both with other people and myself.
I will try to be a good friend to others- listening to them and helping them when they need me.
I will try to listen to what others have to say and put myself in their shoes in order to understand where they are coming from.
I will try to be a happy, light- hearted, likeable person- easy to be around.
I will work to achieve happiness. Whether it is my original plan or I have been thrown a curve, I will try to make the best of the situation I am in.
I will spend time with my family, immediate and extended, knowing that they are very dear to me.
I will follow through with what I commit to doing, and also let others know I expect the same of them.
I will also look at the situation and try to understand if someone does not follow through with their commitment to me- realizing that I cannot change others, only my response to them.

Click here to create your own mission statement- http://www.franklincovey.com/missionbuilder/flash/missionIntro.html?c=MissionStmntC

Explore posts in the same categories: 7 habits of highly effective people, family, goals, husband, life, mission statement, mother, parents, resolutions, son, Uncategorized

2 Comments on “Creating a Mission Statement”

  1. yfs (seussnmoose) Says:

    Here’s a rough version of mine:
    I will share my love of learning with my children, encouraging and supporting them in the pursuits of their interests.
    I will try to be a more patient and understanding wife.
    I will be a role-model by showing my children what is important- not just telling them what to do.
    I will strive to share the love of God through my words and actions.
    I will have fun and give fun.
    I will try to open myself up to God and really listen for His direction for my life.
    I will make good choices, even when I don’t want to and I will help my children learn how to make good choices in life.
    I will use my sense of humor to lift people up.
    I will be a compassionate person, finding directions to help people without compromising the needs of me or my family.
    I will care for those God puts in my path, to the best of my ability.

    I also did the “Journey” mission statement activity, which helped me identify some things that are important to me. Thanks for sharing the links.

  2. Idetrorce Says:

    very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce


Leave a comment