Chore Lottery

This weekend, my son and I had a great discussion about school, chores, and life in general.  One thing that i a constant battle in our hous is getting chores done.  Being an only child, I am sure he probably has more chores than some.  But, there is nothing out of the ordinary on his list of things to do.  Since my husband and I work and he is home, we expect things to be done when we get home.  Usually, this is not the case.  (So, why we continue to expect it, I don’t know!)

Anyway, he is the type of person that needs a list in order to remember things.  This is just a fact.  But, ysterday he told me he doesn’t like having a list for his chores.  So, where does that leave us?  Then, I had a lightbulb moment.  No, really, I think if you were there you would have seen a lightbulb over my head! 

We put all of his chors on seperate pieces of paper and then put them in a box.  He was actually excited about this and designed each paper with different types of writing and pictures.  Then, he offered the box from his mp3 player which has several compartments. 

So, now, in the morning he has to draw a chore and go do it.  Then when he’s done, he puts it in the finished compartment and draws another one.  This way, he knows what he has to do, but doesn’t have to look at a list.  Plus, it’s different everyday- which he seems to like.

How did it work on day 1?  Well, nothing in life is perfect.  But, his attitude is great and most of the things were done.  The rest are in the process of getting done.  The other change is that I am trying not to stress that it wasn’t done- just encouraing him to get it done in a positive way.  I figure if I stay positive, he is more likely to stay positive, as well.  (Which makes for a much more enjoyable evening!)

Explore posts in the same categories: adhd, chores, cleaning, family, housework, life, son

Leave a Reply

