I just finished dinner and I have a little time to write before my dh gets impatient and wants to play his game on the laptop.

So, let me share the good news!  We have all – including dh- sat at the table for dinner two nights in a row!  I’m 2/3 on my way to achieving that goal this week and it’s only Tuesday! 

On the other hand, my exercising is not going as well.  By the time I get home, make dinner, sit down at the table and eat (yay!) and then go over any school work with my son, there is no time left to exercise.  Where do people fit this all in?  My only option seems to be to do it first thing in the morning.  So, maybe I will try that.

So, some of you have asked about my grocery shopping.  I have to admit that I get a strange joy out of spending as little as possible to get real food to make real dinners.  So, spending $20 is about usual- if not more than lately.  Alot of times, I have meat in the freezer from a good sale.  And, I had bought a lot of cans of fruits and vegetables when they were on sale.  But, here is what I bought on $20.  

whole chicken- frozen

cream cheese block

shredded cheese

pot pies- the only easy, processed food for the week

refrig crescent roll tube

2 lbs ground turkey- well, I compromised with my dh and got 1 turkey and 1 ground beef to mix together

tortillas

salsa

lunchmeat variety pack- turkey and ham

salad mix

pretzels

One thing that helps is to plan on using leftovers.  For instance, yesterday I cooked a whole chicken in the crock pot and then today I used the rest of the chicken to make my chicken burritos- which were very good!  (here’s the link to the site I found the recipe on http://momadvice.com/food/aldi_meal_plan4.aspx )  My family goes in spurts with eating leftovers.  So, since I hate throwing food away, it’s much better if I can find another way to use them up.

The taco bake recipe I am going to use is one I found online, but have not tried yet.  http://recipes.sparkpeople.com/recipe-detail.asp?recipe=157947 I’ll let you know Thursday.

The envelope system seems to be getting easier.  I am realizing that each week should get easier because some of the envelopes accumulate each week.  So, the first week is probably the worst because there was nothing to start with except what I put in there Friday.  My dh called me today to ask which envelope to take money out of for something.  That, I feel was a step in the right direction rather than just using the bank card to get it.  As Dave Ramsey’s book says- baby steps!

Explore posts in the same categories: baby steps, cooking, Dave Ramsey, dinner, excercise, family, goals, grocery shopping, grocery store, husband, life, simple life, son

Leave a Reply

