These Boots are Made for Talkin’

The day before Christmas, I was in a mad rush to get ready for Christmas Day.  My dh had just come home from the hospital the night before after a 5 day stay.  So, needless to say, I was a little behind in the Christmas prep department and way ahead in the stress department.

So, when I saw the boots I’d been admiring for months on sale, there wasn’t a choice.  It was a neccesity!  Black leather, 3 inch heels, coming up to my knees-  definitely me!  Well, the me I wanted to be at the time.  So, I snatched them up, bought them and proudly brought them home to show to my dh and ds.  Thier response was not what I wanted, but was what I expected.  They laughed at me.  “The 80’s called- they want thier boots back!”  Whatever.  I didn’t buy them for anyone but me- which was part of the beauty of the boots- all the freedom they represented. 

So, I have been wearing them frequently ever since.  Have I gotten anymore taunts from my boots?  Not one- see what does my dh know about fashion?  Here and there someone would comment that they liked my boots- not much more or less.  But, yesterday, that all changed.  Not an hour has gone by that someone didn’t comment on how great they were!  people who I didn’t know, people I knew who had never started a conversation with me in my life, and even stranger, people who had probably seen me in my boots a dozen times or more!  So, where did it all come from?  I’m not sure.  I’m still trying to figure it out. 

I think tomorrow will be a no boots day, though.  They are fine until about the 7th hour I wear them.  Then they become almost unbearable to walk in!  On the good side, I whined enough last night that my dh actually rubbed my feet!  

Explore posts in the same categories: boots, family, husband, life, son

Leave a Reply

