7 Habits- Be Proactive

Today we started with the first habit- be proactive.  We watched the segmenton the first habit on the webcast. 

I’m not sure if my son was completely awake since we started almost immediately when we got up- which is when I like to work out.  But, I think it was a good introduction to the habit.  We will follow it up with the chapter from the book for highly effective families tomorrow.  Since I haven’t had a chance to get the audio from the library, my son will read the book out loud (the treadmill has a place to put the book and the bike doesn’t).

It seems that 10 minutes is a good time frame to start with.  As we progress, we may increase it. 

We started with this quote from Viktor Frankl- “When we can no longer change a situation, we are challenged to change ourselves.”  I love this!  It took me a long time- and some hard lessons- to learn this.  But, learning it and living it have made me a much happier person.  When I stopped relying on others to make things right and started looking at what I can do to change it or how I relate to it, then life got alot easier! 

They discussed making choices and being responsible for them.  Ineffective people would become products of circumstances whereas effective people would be products of choices.  Basically, the way I see it, instead of making excuses for why things aren’t happening, we should look for ways to make them happen. 

Explore posts in the same categories: 7 habits of highly effective people, curriculum, family, free homeschool resources, homeschool, homeschool ideas, proactive

3 Comments on “7 Habits- Be Proactive”

  1. Graffiti Says:

    Viktor Frankl,
    is one of my most liked authors.

    A man with tremendous insight with what I think is a very good view or philosophy of life.
    he has so much to say

    Graffiti

  2. Clint Black Says:

    7 habits is a remarkable book. I like it a lot. But for some people the habits are not so easy to implement. For example it was really hard for me to find a good organizing tool Steven is talking about in one of the chapters. Then, I found this post http://www.wrike.com/blog/11/13/2007/Make_Wrike_a_part_of_your_7_habits_for_becoming_highly_effective . The tool is surprisingly easy to use and affordable. But the best thing is that it seems to be designed for the fullfillment of the 7 habits.

  3. sandrar Says:

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.


Leave a Reply

