Timor Omnis Abesto

“Let Fear Be Far From Us All”

I have been meaning to write about phobia’s lately and this weekend I found out something interesting.  I was at the Celtic Festival and, in looking at information about my family, I found out that thi is the motto on our family crest.  So, I figure something is telling me I should stop procrastinating and write about it.

After posting the top 10 searches awhile back, I have come to find out that polydactilism really is a highly searched subject.  Not a day goes by that someone doesn’t find my blog by searching for polydactilism.  Who would have thought?  Anyway, somehow, my polydactilism post turned into a phobia post (graffiti?)  So, I started looking into different phobia’s that exist.  Here are a few things I found out.  (See?  We are always learning!)

Before I go on, I have to say I would classify myself as low on the phobia scale.  But, I am terrified of going to the dentist!  I would rather do just about anything in the world than go to the dentist.  I suppose someday my teeth will fall out and I’ll have to go.  But, until then, I avoid dentists at all cost.

So, without further interruption, here is a list of some unusual phobia’s.  It amazes me that there are names for these- which means there are people who have them!  And, how terrible it must be to go through life dealing with them!  Let me make it clear this post isn’t to “make fun of” people with these phobias- only to make people aware that they exist.  I certainly didn’t know most of them existed.  I knew of the typical clowns, leaving the house, snakes, spiders, etc.  But, the more unusual fears are just as significant for those who have to deal with them.  Most of my research leads me to believe the main cause of any phobia is a childhood trauma- whether remembered or stored somewhere in the person’s brain.  This fact makes me wonder what some children went through as children to fear such things.  So, now, as I promised awhile back to give you without further interruption (I guess I lied) here is a list of some unusual phobias.  Please feel free to share your own that you have heard of or experienced.

 Ablutophobia- Fear of washing or bathing
Aerophobia- Fear of swallowing air
Ambulophobia- Fear of walking
Anablephobia- Fear of looking up
Arachibutyrophobia- Fear of peanut butter sticking to the roof of the mouth.
Chaetophobia- Fear of hair
Chronophobia- Fear of time
Dextrophobia- Fear of objects at the right side of the body
Geniophobia- Fear of chins
Genuphobia- Fear of knees
Hippopotomonstrosesquippedaliophobia- Fear of long words

Kathisophobia- Fear of sitting down
Levophobia- Fear of objects to the left side of the body
Nomatophobia- Fear of names
Stasibasiphobia- Fear of walking
Verbophobia- Fear of words
Deipnophobia: Fear of dining and dinner conversations.
Diplopiaphobia: Fear of double vision3

Gymnophobia: Fear of nudity. Synonyms: Nudophobia.
Ideophobia: Fear of ideas.

Osmophobia: Fear of smells.

Explore posts in the same categories: ablutophobia, aerophobia, arachibuyrophobia, clowns, dentist, fear, phobia, polydactylism, snake

24 Comments on “Timor Omnis Abesto”

  1. rowdyrodi Says:

    WOW I hope I never have to deal with such fears. I couldn’t imagine how imprisioned people who suffer with these must feel. How does one survive being afraid to breathe in air????

  2. yfs Says:

    What kind of sick person does this?

    “Hippopotomonstrosesquippedaliophobia- Fear of long words”

    Tell someone they’ve got a phobia and just the name of the phobia preys upon what they fear the most! Heck! That word even scares me a bit!

  3. yfs Says:

    PS- Can’t believe you didn’t know “Timor Omnis Abesto”, but I’m really jealous that you got to go to the Celtic Fest and find that out. Next year, let us know when it is so we can go to. Gotta start (okay, continue) brainwashing the kids sometime!

  4. Graffiti Says:

    Heliophobia (sun)
    barophobia (gravity)
    stasophobia (standing)
    graphophobia (writing)
    hohohophobia (santa claus)
    hihohihophobia (little men)

    Polydactilism is a souhgt after topic by the sounds of it Jenni.
    I have subsequently discovered that the condition where one is born with only four fingers is simpsondactilism.

    Graffiti

  5. mothBeame Says:

    Emm.. Are you paying attention to my mysterious frustration I have a nice joke for you) How can you tell if a planet is married? It has a ring around it.

  6. Richard McNab Says:

    Timor Omnis Abesto is the McNab motto. The Dreadnought battleships were named after this. That’s all there is to Timor Omnis Abesto – everything else is nonsense.

    • Vernon McNabb Says:

      I was doing some research, and for the longest I thought the McNabb name was Irish descent. What got me started digging for this info was that I was making a wooden shield for my son and wanted to put the family crest on the front. I have uncovered a few varying crests, but all have the same slogan. do you recommend a website that is accurate in researching the family name?

  7. John Richard McNabb Says:

    Carry on my brother, Timor Omnis Abesto is our clan slogan its on our coat and such dating back into history far before anyone else coined the sayin, if ye be part of the clan then pleased to meet ya if not i think ya got duped at ur local festival.


  8. Hi guys,

    I know this might be a bit off topic but seeing that a bunch of you own websites, where would the best place be to host. Someone recommended I use Blue Host for $6.95 a month which seems like a great deal. Anyone here on mrsghost.wordpress.com using them?


  9. If I had a greenback for each time I came to mrsghost.wordpress.com.. Incredible read!

  10. Anne Minor Says:

    Very awesome article! Truely!


  11. Heh I’m literally the first reply to your amazing post.

  12. W.McNabb Says:

    Jeez John Richard pretty stoked to learn from Richard not only is Dreadnought our motto but Navy ships were commissioned in honour of our fine scottish heritage! Timor Abesto Omnis Brothers and Sisters !

  13. germane Says:

    hello all .great place. site for traders .

  14. Tacit Sphinx Says:

    Timor omnis abesto [original]
    Fear all be away [word for word]

    Let all fear be absent. [literal]
    All fear begone! [dynamic]

    There is nothing about “us all” or “everyone” (which would require “nobis omnibus” or “omnibus”).

  15. jmcnabb Says:

    Just came across your article. I am a McNabb and a dentist so, I had to leave a reply. Live up to the motto. Timor Omnis Abesto!

  16. Paul mcnab Says:

    Love the irony . Used to suffer panic attacks . But I’m a mcnab so …. Timor omni abesto 🙂


Leave a Reply

