The Power of Color

I just told my son to do his vocabulary in green today.  He looked at me like I was crazy.  But, he went and got his colored pencils and is now writing his answers in green, anyway.

At the homeschool conference I went to last spring, I came across a booth that I found fascinating.  I misplaced the info until last week.  So, I never got a chance to try out these theories.  But, here I go with another experiment.  Let me know if you want to play along to.  The more feedback, the better!

Here is the site that discusses the basis of the effect of color on reading, writing, and general well- being.  http://www.irlen.com/ The site also has some tests on it to find out what colors are most comfortable for the viewer.  But, although I found the information interesting, I did not find the site extremely useful since I had no intention to go to a testing center and have my son get colored glasses. 

That became the incentive for me to hunt up my papers from the conference.  I remembered the people from the booth had given me a sheet with a list of colors and their uses.  Then, I would be able to determine the colors needed and go to my favorite place (the office supply store!) and pick up report covers in the colors needed.  So, here is the list I found and the website of the booth that I got it from.  They have a variety of tools for all different learning needs.  And, the prices are extremely reasonable! http://www.headsupnow.com/

Yellow- first color processed by the brain- has ability to improve comprehension up to 70%

Blue or pink- lower blood pressure and respiration- release neurotransmitters in th brain that calm

Red- color of activity- promots ideas more effectively- increases language fluency

Blue- has the potential to increase willingness to read up to 80%- a motivational color

Green- increases recall of rote material 60- 78%

Let me know if you have tried this.  I am curious to see if it will have any significant changes.  They recommend the colored lenses for adhd, dyslexia, headaches, etc. 

Explore posts in the same categories: adhd, color lenses, dyslexia, free homeschool resources, headaches, irlen lenses, migraine

9 Comments on “The Power of Color”

  1. Maxine Jaubert Says:

    It is not that simple and predictable. Irlen colors have to be fine tuned to the individual. No blanket category will correct the processing of light waves for individuals with certain problems. People with the same color will have a whole range of problems. I know, I have worked with Irlen and wear Irlen lenses. After a life time with limiting problems that never appeared as debilitating and a low key headache I all my life that I attributed to sinus problems, i would not be without filters. They are as important to me as health treatment.

    Maxine

  2. yfs Says:

    I have had some experience with this… way back when. It was so long ago, that I don’t remember the partiulars… just that white background (which is what just about every worksheet and reading page is printed on) is about the worst thing you could use because of the contrast and how the brain processes.
    I will second the “green” thing. I didn’t know it at the time, but when I was in my senior year of HS, I was in a play and had TONS of lines to memorize. I highlighted them all with a green highlighter and I learned them. Now, whenever I have to memorize or learn something, I highlight it in green and it helps.


  3. What an interesting theory. I may try a few things using this method. I’ll let you know how it works out. I also wanted to thank you for the book recommendation for the Civil War unit.

    Have a great day!
    JoAnn

  4. Elizabeth B Says:

    That was very interesting. I wrote in green ink on our whiteboard we use as a slate a phonics sequence from Webster’s syllabary that my daughter has been having trouble with…CA, CE, CI, CO, CU, CY. Either the 15th time was a charm or the green is helpful.

    Also, am in the process of redesigning my online phonics lessons and was looking for a new color. I liked black on white the best, but it bled a bit when compressed to a small quicktime file. The other PowerPoint choices, I didn’t like as well. I hadn’t thought to try other than the standard templates. When I tried my own design of green on white, it looked great and had very little bleeding when compressed. So, thanks!

  5. Anna Says:

    I stumbled on this site but would like to comment on the effect of color choice in my life. During college I realized that when I took notes in blue ink I did better on exams. I began to write in blue whenever I knew I had to study the info, I realized this was because I was able to read and comprehend the blue wrtining easier. When I read or write in the common black I do not comprehend/remember the information as well, if at all. When I write in blue I am able to comprehend and recall the information with ease. I am questioned all the time at work on why I must have blue pens in my office. I tell them I write the important stuff in blue so that my eyes will catch the info easier. I did not now there was an explaination to my desire/need to read and write in blue–intriguing.


  6. Soon to be colorthevowels at a google site.
    It is print with a 14 color code for the vowel sounds. Works just fine for people with non-dyslexic reading trouble, the problem is getting people to use the goofy-looking stuff.


  7. […] The Power of Color « Tomorrow is Another DaySep 20, 2007 … Blue- has the potential to increase willingness to read up to 80%- a motivational color. Green- increases recall of rote material 60- 78% … […]

  8. mimiko Says:

    Great blog post, thanks for sharing it here !

    Just for your info. you can also check out http://www.contactlensxchange.com for more exciting brand colored circle lenses.

    Enjoy and stay pretty : )

    Mimiko


Leave a Reply

