I Need a Vacation!

One of the joys I have found on our homeschooling journey is that we can take a wonderful, relaxing vacation and avoid the summer rush!  I love being able to go places and not have a swarm of people and cars everywhere.  Also, the price of gas usually goes down, which really adds up to quite a savings when we are driving a long distance. 

One of the other cool aspects about vacation since we started homeschooling is that we can coordinate our trips with what we are studying.  Last year, we went to the Henry Ford museum (http://www.hfmgv.org/museum/) and Greenfield Village.  Although my son didn’t like my constant questions relating exhibits to his school, he absorbed the information anyway.  And, quite a few times, he commented that an exhibit was something that he remembered studying.  How cool is that?  Before, we rarely knew what he was learning until he was on to the next thing.  So, we never had the chance to bring it to life.  Now, it’s time to make up for lost time!

So, next week we will all be on vacation.  Bringing geography into the trips is easy.  (Except for the fact that I hate stopping when I am on my way somewhere and we will have to stop to pick up information in all of the states we go through!)  We are blessed to live close enough to many great museums to make day trips possible.  So, I am sure that will be on the agenda for the week. 

Next Saturday is National Alpaca Day.  (Of course, you already knew that, I know!)  Although he doesn’t know it, this will be a class in itself.  My son, who works at the alpaca farm, will be there for the day helping with the open house.  This will give him a chance to demonstrate some of his speach skills that are required for 8th grade.  I have talked to the owner of the farm about writing a letter confirming his mastery in some of the skills.  If I told my son this, he would likely be nervous, but without knowing, he will do quite well.  He has taught me everything I know about alpacas! 

So, we are very excited to be visiting family this weekend, spending time together, and learning without even trying!

Explore posts in the same categories: alpaca, curriculum, driving, family, field trip, geography, greenfield village, henry ford museum, homeschool, homeschool ideas, vacation

3 Comments on “I Need a Vacation!”

  1. Annabel Says:

    I can’t wait to see you! We’ll be sure to work in some fun and educational activities while you’re here. I’m gonna have to brush up on my Central New York history before you come!

  2. amanda Says:

    i need a vacation away from my brothers and sisters

  3. amanda Says:

    they can get really annoying sometimes maybe back to florida just me, mom, and dad


Leave a Reply

