Life Lessons

Today was “one of those days”.  After rushing around all morning to get my work and everything else done, my son and I drove 1 1/2 hours to go to the visitation for a very dear friend of mine.  Yes, he was 65 years older than me, but, nonetheless, he was a very dear friend to me. 

Consumed with my own sadness, it was only minutes ago that I asked my son how he felt about it all.  His response was that he was not excited about going to the visitation- about actually seeing a dead person laying in a coffin.  But, that he knew he had to go.  I’ll take that as a pretty grown up response from a 13 year old boy.  In fact, I would guess that would be an honest response from a lot of people. 

The older he gets, I think the more he absorbs from life experience.  And, today was definitely one of those times.  Homeschool lessons today were definitely harder than most- for both of us. 

Explore posts in the same categories: family, homeschool, life, son

Leave a Reply

