Omega’s- Miracle Cure? Part 1

(Here is an old post from an old blog site I used to have combined with an update.  Sorry for the repeat if you have read it before.  But, I think the info is so important that it’s worth reposting to get it out to all of the people I can.  If it has worked this well for me, it might help someone else.  And, I can’t tell the update as well without starting at the beginning.  So, bear with me for such a long post!)

A few weeks ago- as I’m sure most parents have been at one time or another- I was at my wit’s end. My son is a wonderful kid. I am very blessed. But, he also has his moments.

One of the main reasons we decided to homeschool him was the fact that he has ADHD. Although it’s pretty minor compared to some, it definitely affects the way he learns and the way he deals with life. Before taking him out of school, I did a great deal of research in ADHD. I went online and found several helpful forums and websites. I also read some really great books. (this is where I should post the links, but I can’t remember the names of them- only the one forum which was adhdnews.com – or something like that) I have never liked taking medicine of any kind. Although I know my son has to take it for his asthma, I definitely didn’t want him taking it for his adhd. So, I researched other ways to help him learn to deal with it. Also, I looked into foods to help him and foods we should avoid. Strangely enough, I found eggs in the morning really did help him. This was great until I learned he couldn’t tolerate dairy because of stomach issues!

So, while on the adhdnews forum, I came across several posts on omega’s. Curious, I looked them up. It seemed they were all positive. The omega’s had already been proven to help with heart health, so what could it hurt? I started putting flax oil in his breakfast. He didn’t know. And, although he was still in school so I couldn’t see a dramatic difference since he was gone, it did seem he had less trouble in school when he was taking it. After awhile, I told him about it. He took it willingly for awhile and then decided he didn’t want to take it anymore. By that time we were homeschooling and it didn’t seem to be as much of an issue since the learning was so different.

But, a few weeks ago, things changed. He had been complaining that his brain was going overwhelmingly fast. It was driving him crazy. And, for awhile, he had been driving me crazy because he was not getting anything done- and having a bad attitude! So, I asked him if he wanted to try the flax oil again. We were in the car and I told him if he wanted to, we would stop and get it right then. He gave me an emphatic “Yes!” So, we stopped at the health store- you can actually get it anywhere and would probably be much cheaper other places but I wanted some questions answered too.

This post is getting too long. Stay tuned for the results.

Explore posts in the same categories: adhd, chores, flax oil, homeschool, omega, son

2 Comments on “Omega’s- Miracle Cure? Part 1”

  1. yielded Says:

    Have you ever read Dr. Furhman’s Disease-Proof Your Child? It was very helpful for me. They might even have it at the library.

  2. mrsghost Says:

    I haven’t but I’m going to the library this evening. I’ll look for it. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

