American Youth

I just got back from an overnight trip.  Since I wasn’t driving, it was the first time in forever that I had a chance to spend some quality time reading!  Usually, I have 50 million other things to do and even if I do sit  down to read, I am interrupted either by someone or the thought of something I think I should be doing.  But, yesterday and today, I had a chance to do some guilt- free reading!  It was wonderful!

Awhile back, when I went to vidit my cousin, she gave me a book.  Her friend wrote it and he even came over and wrote in the book for me.  How cool is that?  So, when I got home, I opened “American Youth” and started to read.

I couldn’t put it down at first.  Each page made me turn to the next wondering what would happen next.  And, the great thing about it was that I was quickly through several chapters.  As I said, unfortunately reading for fun doesn’t have a permanent time slot in my schedule.  So, I loved that it was a quick read- not that it wasn’t deep or thought provoking- just simply written to be understood.  So, then, quickly came a twist in the plot that set me back.  I think that’s what made it take so long for me to pick up the book again.  Not that it wasn’t a good book- I just had to digest it- take it in.  You see, it’s about a boy about my son’s age.  And, the reality of it all set me back.  My son is a good kid- really I am blessed.  But, a tragic event can happen to anyone.  And, the after effects- the quick spiral downward from there- was something I am glad I didn’t read about until  I had a chance to digest it all.  In the end, the resolution was good- realistic and not a fairytale. 

I’m glad I had the chance to read it.  I think it’s something, as a mom, that gives me insight into the pressures a boy can face.  And, for a teen, how easily things can spiral down without even noticing they are moving.  So, even though at times I was kind of freaked out as a mom, I was also grateful for an opportunity to peek into the mind of a teenage boy.

So, thankyou Phillip LaMarche for sharing with us all!  And thankyou Annabel for sharing with me!

Explore posts in the same categories: American Youth, cousin, driving, life, mother, Phillip Lamarche, son

2 Comments on “American Youth”

  1. rowdyrodi Says:

    Isn’t it amazing how somethings can really put life in the BIG PICTURE. It is then that we see we were only looking at life as a “print” before that.

    Glad to hear you found some “me” time.

  2. mrsghost Says:

    Yes- everthing does happen for a reason. And, yes, I definitely was in need of “me” time.


Leave a Reply

