Where-oh where- has my little boy gone?

I can’t believe how fast time has gone!  My son is now 13 and it seems this has been a year of so many changes- some subtle- others not so subtle.  But, just in the last few weeks here are a few.

He got a job- a real job!  He works 1- 2 hours a day 5 days a week at an Alpaca farm.  He loves it!  Amazing since it’s not much different than picking up after our pets and he hates doing that!  But, he is learning alot about Alpaca’s, horses, and working in general.  I’m pretty proud of him, actually.  It started out as a volunteer thing once a week.  But, they liked having him there to do certain things and asked him to start working there- thier first employee!  So, he must be doing well!

Next is a little scary.  He got invited by a girl to his first girl- boy party.  It’s at a beach about 30 minutes from here.  It’s a girl in his tennis class.  Since he was not able to go into the class at his playing level, he is at the top of his beginner class.  And, it seems all the girls- which is the class majority- have seen him at his best.  The girl who invited him also wanted to play him in tennis last week.  Hmmm.  Unfortunately, he will be out of town the day of the party.  When I told him he should call her and tell her that, he was not ready to do that.  OK.  I’m relieved.  I’ll admit I’m not quite ready for him to start calling girls.  Or, worse yet, have girls calling him!

Which leaves me to the next life change.  He doesn’t even know this one yet since he won’t be home until Friday.  We got him a cell phone.  I’m not excited about this.  But, I’m sure he will be.  But, it will only be for emergencies and to let us know where he is.  We can track who he calls and his minutes.  So, we will see how this works out.  I’ll keep you posted.

So, am I ready for these changes?  No, not really.  But, I see I have no choice.  And, someday I will probably look back and wish these were the only changes I had to worry about.  So, we move on and wait for the next one!

Explore posts in the same categories: alpaca, cell phone, family, job, mother, son, tennis

One Comment on “Where-oh where- has my little boy gone?”

  1. Annabel Says:

    What a little man! Holy crap.


Leave a Reply

